Sylvan Learning Center

How can we expose more people to critical thinking?
Evolver

Sylvan Learning Center

Post by Evolver »

My wife and I just had our son tested at the local Sylvan Learning Center.

They are recommending $4000 worth of classes. Are they trying to scam us? Has anyone here had any experience with them?
2016 & 2018 NFL "Sorry To Make You Cry" Challenge Champion

"Rational arguments don't usually work on religious people. Otherwise, there would be no religious people." - Dr. Gregory House

Andonyx

Post by Andonyx »

Well, I have no experience with them outside of their Midwest Franchise being one of our clients.

But from a logical perspective, is your child having any trouble at school?

You didn't say what issues he may be facing, but Sylvan I believe is targeted at helping kids who are having trouble in grade-school skill sets. If your child had no problems at school before, and if the teacher has never found it necessary to speak to you about outside tutoring, and suddenly their "Tests" reveal a problem...

Well, then yes, I'd say you ARE being scammed.

I guess I need more information about your son's academic past.

Evolver

Post by Evolver »

Thanks for responding.

He's going in to the 5th grade.

His grades are OK.

He has always been an excellent reader (in fact, the Sylvan test rated him as reading 5 years above his level), but now he hates to read. I've tried offering him different types of books, but none catch on.

Also, in tests at school where they read a passage and had to answer questions about it, he seemed to have no comprehension of what he read.

This has worried my wife and prompted his testing.

"Rational arguments don't usually work on religious people. Otherwise, there would be no religious people." - Dr. Gregory House

TruthSeeker

Post by TruthSeeker »

have you asked your son about the change in his reading?

Anything going on in his life around the time the shift happened?

Evolver

Post by Evolver »