Abel prize

We are the Borg.
User avatar
Posts: 27699
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 5:50 pm

Abel prize

Post by Witness »

For the first time, mathematics' most prestigious prize has been awarded to a woman, Karen Uhlenbeck


Karen Uhlenbeck, a mathematician and professor at the University of Texas, has been awarded this year's Abel Prize, a mathematics prize modeled after the Nobels. It's the first time the prize has gone to a woman.
The Abel Prize is awarded by the King of Norway to mathematicians who have greatly influenced their field, and includes a cash award of 6 million Norwegian kroner (about $700,000). The first prize was awarded in 2003.
Uhlenbeck, 76, is known for her work with partial differential equations. However, her decades-long career spans multiple disciplines, including physics, geometry and quantum theory.
https://edition.cnn.com/2019/03/19/worl ... index.html

In 2014 Maryam Mirzakhani won the Fields medal (and sadly died from breast cancer two years ago).
Iranian press photoshopped a veil on her pictures.